Some protein powders contain animal products like milk and eggs, but no actual meat. Others, like beef or chicken isolate, do contain meat derivatives. Plant protein powders that are vegan (no animal products) are usually made from proteins like rice, pea, and soy. Therefore, if trying to avoid animal sources of protein, read the product ingredients label to understand the protein sources in the product.